Dataran Putra

The 300 metres circular Dataran Putra adorned with light and water features provides the centrepiece for Presint 1.Dataran Putra is bounded by Perdana Putra, Masjid Putra, Putra Bridge and the Promenade. Together they constitute a most impressive showcase of Putrajaya's unique architectural form.

Designed basically as two concentric plazas surrounded by Taman Putra Perdana, the circular ceremonial area is an open hard landscape encircled by Chahar Baghs, which acts as a transition between the parks and the ceremonial area. Inside the Chahar Baghs is carefully arranged interplay of paths, water channels, flower beds and trees. Beyond the Chahar Baghs is a sea of colourful local flora.

The Dataran is divided into 11 segments, in the pattern of an 11-pointed star. The outer 11-pointed star represents the 11 states of Malaya when the country gained independence in August 1957, the inner 13-pointed star the 13 states that formed Malaysia in 1963 and the 14-pointed star inlcudes the new addition of the Federal Territory. The progressive arrangements of the different pointed stars finally culminate in a circle in the centre of the Dataran. The circle symbolises the ultimate goal of unity.

Dataran Gemilang Dataran Putra
Dataran Putrajaya Dataran Rakyat
Dataran Wawasan
Dataran Putra Contents Image